Blogger’s Quilt Festival

Amy's Creative Side - Blogger's Quilt FestivalThis year I thought it would be fun to participate in this Blogger’s Quilt Festival, hosted by Amy’s Creative Side. There are hundreds of quilts there showcased by quilters all over. I’ve just recently finished a quilt for Sam that I have been meaning to blog about, and this seemed like the perfect opportunity to:

DSC_0017

DSC_0026

I made this using a pattern from the book Quilts, Baby!. It combines quilting and some embroidery. It was a lot of fun to combine those two media and I would definitely make another like it! It was a fun way to practice my still-a-little-shabby embroidery skills. I improvised a little on the embroidery but using my own little puppy designs instead of the cats that are used in the original pattern. The fabric is organic cotton, and it’s really, really soft and cuddly. It’s called “My Happy Garden” from Cloud 9 fabric.

DSC_0032

I was a surprised at how fast this quilt came together, but it makes sense, because not only are all the blocks the same size, but since they are staggered in that brick pattern, there is no need to match up any corners like you would with most quilt blocks. You just have to make sure the seams in one row are centered with the blocks in the next row. As long as you’re accurate with the size of the blocks, you’re good to go and it’s easy to piece. For this reason it was a great quilt for a quilter like me, without huge blocks of time and has to grab spare moments to quilt.

DSC_0033

I also hand-quilted this quilt, since I don’t have a walking foot for my machine. I just quilted along the lines of the printed fabric, the “steps”, so the quilting wouldn’t interfere with the embroidery. I didn’t really want a whole lot of quilting on the quilt, anyway, because I wanted the embroidery to be the star. Since I didn’t quilt around every single block of fabric, this went pretty quickly, too. All in all, I was very happy at how fast I finished this baby, especially because it was meant for my own baby and I wanted him to have it while he still was one (a baby, I mean!).

Sam has already put it to good use. I think it fits him perfectly.

DSC_0035

I recommend you go and see some of the other quilts at the festival. There are so many beautiful and amazing quilts!

DSC_0001

19 thoughts on “Blogger’s Quilt Festival

  1. This is such a sweet quilt. I really like the little puppies embroidered on the different steps….it totally makes the quilt whimsical….. the model is pretty adorable too!

  2. Sweet, sweet quilt and baby! I just love adding embroidery to my quilts and I just love how you added the cute embroidered puppies to this quilt! Terrific!

  3. dad

    Thomas must not have interrupted too much! Great job! Great Grandma Watson would be proud. You carry on a great tradition. Love, Dad

  4. Anne

    That quilt looks fabulous, Jill! Great work and thanks for sharing your crafty successes!! Have you return to work at the quilt shop yet? Still sounds like such a nice side job to have!!!

  5. joanallegretti

    In the first picture, Sam looks like he’s confused and wondering what you’re doing. Then in the second picture it looks like he’s posing! hee hee!

Comments...

